Foundation for Nature Conservation in Suriname

Partly achieved by means of the nature conservation commission Suriname received her first nine (9) nature reserves, four (4) along the coast and five (5) inside the country. Until 1975, the selection of these areas took place under the presence of nature and landscapes and /or important flora, fauna and cultural and geological objects.

After 1975, the selection of areas was based on a thorough inventory and mapping of ecosystems. During the years 1974-1977 a comprehensive inventory of ecosystems took place in the coastal plain and the savanna belt place which was conducted by Drs. Peter Teunissen. Based on this assessment and established criteria, six (6) areas were indentified eligible for the status of nature reserve and four (4) areas for the status of forest reserves. In the selection, however, it was not always possible to avoid the local communities claiming their "traditional" rights and interests of the areas. Therefore it is explicitly included in the nature conservation law of 1986 that the nearby living locals in tribal life will maintain their "traditional" rights and interests in the newly set nature reserve.

Currently Suriname has 16 protected areas: 11 nature reserves, 4 Multiple Use Management areas (MUMA’s) and 1 Nature Park. These are:  5 nature reserves in the coastal area (Galibi, Wia Wia, Coppename estuary, Peruvia and Hertenrits), 4 MUMA’s in the coastal area, 3 nature reserves on the border of the old coastal plain and the savanna belt (Wane creek, Copi, Upper Coesewijne) and 3 nature reserves and 1 nature park in the interior (nature reserve Brinckheuvel, the Central Suriname Nature Reserve, the Sipaliwini Nature Reserve and Brownsberg Nature Park).
Out of the 11 nature reserves the CSNR (Central Suriname Nature Reserve) is the largest and the Hertenrits is the smallest. Below you will see a list with descriptions of all that nature reserves.

Suriname also has 3 hemispheric sites. That means they house more than 500,000 birds during the year in the area. These are: Wia Wia Nature Reserve, Coppenameriver estuary reserve and the Bigi Pan management area.

The 5 nature reserves located in the coastal area

Hertenrits Reserve

The Hertenrits nature reserve was founded in 1972 and is the smallest reserve of Suriname. It is located in the district Nickerie and known for many cultural heritages that are present.

Peruvia Reserve

The Peruvia nature reserve, founded in 1986, is located at the front of the Coppenameriver in the freshwater part of the coast in the district Coronie.

Coppename Estuary Reserve

The foundations for the Coppename nature reserve have been laid in 1966. This area is located on the coast of the Coppenameriver in the district Saramacca.

Galibi Nature Reserve

The Galibi nature reserve, founded in 1969, is located at the north east coast of Suriname. The reserve is about 40 km² and is located in the district of Marowijne.

Wia Wia Nature Reserve

The Wia Wia Nature Reserve was established in 1966 by the Suriname's Forest Management. The reserve is 360 km² and is located in the district Marowijne, west of Galibi.


The 4 nature reserves in the interior

Brinckheuvel Reserve

The Brinckheuvel was founded in 1966 with an area of 60 km². It is located between Suriname and the Saramacca River in the district Brokopondo.

Central Suriname Nature Reserve

The Central Suriname Nature Reserve (CSNR) was established in 1998 through a merger of three existing nature reserves, known as the Raleigh Falls, Table Mountain and Eilerts de Haan Mountain.


The Sipaliwini Nature Reserve is 1000 km² and is located in the south of Suriname in district Sipaliwini. With the establishment in 1972 of this nature area, the Sipaliwini savanna, which is in contact with the Paroe savanna in Brazil, is conserved.


Brownsberg Nature Park is located in the Brokopondo district, 130 kilometers south of the capital city Paramaribo. In 1970, the government instructed the management to STINASU that now protects the 120 km² area. Since the handover to Stinasu ecotourism activities are permitted.


The 3 Nature reserves located between the savanna belt and the old coastal area


The Wanecreek Park was founded in 1986. This park is 450 km² and is located near the Wanecreek in the Marowijne district.

Copi reserve

Copi nature reserve is a nature area with a surface area of 180 km². This area is located near the Casawinica creek in the district Para.

Upper Coesewijne

Upper Coesewijne nature reserve has a size of 270 square kilometers and is known for its brown sand savanna (Coesewijne type), savannas of the Zanderij type and dry white sand savannas (Casipora type).